Provo: Vegetable Garden City

Back in February, we learned that Provo used to be known at the “Garden City.” Perhaps a more accurate name would be the Vegetable Garden City.

While I was wandering around at the Freedom Festival a few days ago, I noticed that the landscaping around the historic courthouse included a number of vegetable plants. I knew Provo had vegetable gardens at city hall, but I didn’t know about the ones in the pictures below.

I haven’t had time to check and see what happens to the produce from these plants, but it’s nonetheless an exciting part of the city because it shows that landscaping can serve multiple purposes; these plants don’t just look nice, they’ll also feed people. Why doesn’t all landscaping include edible plants?

However, even if that isn’t the case, people in Provo should take pride in the fact that their city is leading the charge toward urban food cultivation. As usual (of late), Provo has managed to be efficient, resourceful, and beautiful.

Zucchini plants in a flower bed in downtown Provo.

Unlike the plant at my house, this one actually already has zucchini.

Leafy greens. I think that’s Swiss chard, but if I’m wrong someone tell me.

7 Comments

Filed under Downtown, environment

7 responses to “Provo: Vegetable Garden City

  1. Nathan

    Utah County has a great agricultural extension program with Utah State. I think they are to be commended for their work. If you look close enough you will even find a beehive or two on their grounds.

    • cool, I didn’t know about the beehives. Coincidentally, however, they are currently helping me save my struggling peach tree. They really do great things.

  2. Rebecca Pipkin

    I wonder who I would need to talk to about landscaping some more vegetables in Provo. Do you know if there are any community gardens or beehives?

    • I’m not sure. I know there are private “community gardens,” or empty lots being used by people. But I don’t know about ones that would be open to people who don’t actually own an empty lot or know someone who does. I’ll try to think of someone who would know.

      I also know there was a recent survey from the city gauging interest in community gardens, but I never heard what the results were.

  3. Hey People!

    Nice post! i love it! I think we have to start thinking on that, couse the world will need it, we will need it! I foun some info, you migh want to see… Plant Your Food at Home -Tips for home cultivation – http://www.planthome.blogspot.com

    Cheers!

    JDN

  4. Pingback: City Hall Gardens on NPR | (pro(vo)cation)

Leave a Reply

