(Pro(vo)cation) Turns One!

Sunday, (Pro(vo)cation) passed the one year mark. Though many readers didn’t find this blog until later, it actually began Nov. 4, 2011. This was the first post that wasn’t originally written for another site, and this was the second post. So it seems time for a brief retrospective.

The 100 Block, a frequent topic on this blog.

First, thank you for reading. When I started this blog, I had no idea where it would go. Now, I’m consistently surprised by the response and I’m flattered, humbled, and a bit intimidated when someone tells me they read along.

When I started writing, I also thought I might write two or three posts a week for six months or so, and then I’d be done. Before long, however, I began writing more and more until I settled on the current format of three posts a day, five days a week.

So far, this blog includes 720 posts. As of Sunday night around 8:30, it had 38,773 all-time page views, most of which have come in the last six to eight months as the blog has gained more momentum.

A view of Los Hermanos, the old Carnegie Library and the Wells Fargo Building.

I think that number is great, but if you’re reading along here it also seems to represent a group of people who care about Provo. We may all have different opinions, but clearly there are a bunch of us who think Provo is worth having an opinion about.

Much to my surprise, these are the three most popular posts ever:

1. The LDS Church Muscles Its Way to Development Nirvana

2. The Interchange Boondoggle Part 1

3. Dawn of a New Era: Muse Music Changes Ownership

And these were the three least-clicked posts:

1. The Difference Between Walking and Walkability

2. Are the Olympics a Bad Investment for Cities?

3. Lingering, Loitering, and Lively Sidewalks

The Provo Library has also been discussed on this blog.

If you were to go back and read all the posts on this blog, you might notice a bit of evolution over time. The way I write these posts has certainly changed over the last year, and moreover I’m constantly learning or being told new things, leading me to revise and alter my positions.

In any case, one of my favorite developments recently on this blog is the addition of guest posts. There haven’t been a lot of them yet, but the posts people have submitted demonstrate that people feel passionately about Provo.

The Knight Building is just one example of Provo’s historic architecture.

They’re thinking about the city and they like it. If you’re reading this, I urge you to consider submitting something yourself; I’d love it if this blog evolved to represent a wide range of views, rather than mostly just the opinion of one guy.

In the meantime, feel free to make suggestions, send me pictures — of Provo or anywhere else that is worth studying — and point out problems. I plan to continue writing this blog for sometime yet, and hopefully it’ll continue getting better and better. And thanks again for reading.

The Rooftop Concert Series has come up repeatedly on this blog.

The conversion of the Provo Tabernacle into an LDS Temple also has come up often on this blog. This picture shows a smoke stack that, sadly, was demolished this year.

Provo’s thriving restaurant scene is one of its greatest assets.

Mountains, trees, and BYU are among Provo’s other assets.

3 Comments

Filed under building, Food, Provo, Provo Tabernacle

3 responses to “(Pro(vo)cation) Turns One!

  1. laura

    I love your blog! Can’t believe its been one year. Looking forward to the next one.

  2. Pingback: Best October Posts | (pro(vo)cation)

Leave a Reply

