“I Do Not Care,” Says New Street Art

A friend recently alerted me to a charming new piece of street art in central Provo:

A photo taken by a friend.

A photo taken by a friend.

I haven’t had a chance to see this piece in person yet, but apparently it’s on 100 East, between 100 and 200 South. When I plugged it into Google Translate, I was told “je m’en fiche” means “I do not care” in French. However, “je men fiche” apparently means “I plug men.” I think I see an apostrophe in there, but I suppose each viewer will have to decide which translation is truer to her/himself.

I’ve written many times before about guerrilla art, most often in the case of Leuven, and I think it’s fair to say I’m a fan of it when it’s interesting, beautiful or intellectually stimulating in some way. I’d say this piece fits the bill and makes Provo just a little bit more delightful.

2 Comments

Filed under arts

2 responses to ““I Do Not Care,” Says New Street Art

  1. Liel

    It’s definitely je m’en fiche (which also is a bit more vulgar than just ‘I don’t care,’).

  2. Brenden

    If the artist had the building owner’s permission, I think it’s pretty neat.

    If the artist didn’t have permission, that’s vandalism and is in no way delightful.

Leave a Reply

